Celebration zones at city’s fireworks

Fireworks will only be able to be seen from designated areas this year in Melbourne. Picture: UNSPLASH.

By Mikayla Van Loon

Fireworks are a spectacular feature of New Year’s Eve celebrations, with hundreds of people flocking to the city to experience the delight and awe of the colourful creations.

This year’s fireworks display will be limited to four viewing zones, with a ballot system restricting numbers for a safe entry into 2022.

The free balloted tickets get people access to the celebration zones where they can see the fireworks, listen to live music and be involved in the countdown.

The celebration zones will be stationed throughout the city at Flagstaff Gardens, Treasury Gardens, Alexandra Gardens and Docklands.

Unfortunately to avoid crowds elsewhere, the fireworks will only be able to be seen from these designated areas.

But like always the fireworks can be viewed from your lounge room, with TV coverage starting at 11pm.